The PNG National Rugby League Competition (PNGNRLC) Board has announced Week 5 of the Digicel Cup competition as a ‘Split’ Round.

PNGNRLC Manager Stanley Hondina said the Board made a decision a short time ago to have the split round this weekend.

“This means that the four teams – Lae Snax Tigers, Wamp Nga Mt Hagen Eagles, JPG Waghi Tumbe and PRK Mendi Muruks – will play the Round 5 games in Lae on Sunday August 2, 2020 and have a bye the following weekend,” Hondina said. “The eight teams – Central Dabaris, Moni Plus NCDC Pom Vipers, PRK Gulf Isou, Kroton Hela Wigmen, Agmark Rabaul Gurias, EPG Enga Mioks, Kimbe Cutters and Bintangor Goroka Lahanis – for the Round 5 games set for Port Moresby this Saturday and Sunday will have a bye this weekend and play the following weekend on August 9, 2020.”

Hondina said the PNGNRLC Board decision was made following no response yet from the Office of National Pandemic and the confusion by teams scheduled to play in Port Moresby.

“We have been informed by the Controllers Office that approval to proceed are still pending bur we have a competition to run and as such this decision has been made,” Hondina said. “We are also mindful of the confusion and anxiety this has caused for those teams travelling into Port Moresby and Lae thus in an urgent engagement the board had to make this call.”

He said further announcements will be made in the coming weeks as and when appropriate. Hondina expressed his gratitude on behalf of PNG NRLC Board Chairman Adrian Chow and members, PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka, CEO Reatau Rau and staff to Partners and Sponsors of the premier competition – Digicel PNG, SP Brewery and Motor Vehivle Insurance Ltd – Franchise sponsors, players and officials, the Media and all stakeholders and supporters for their understanding and continued support.

“As we have said all along, these are unprecedented times and some decisions made will be unusual but necessary,” Hondina concluded.